Department of Physics


The inception of the college in the year 1958 as a faculty of science in the then Shri Shivaji College of Arts and commerce was perfectly in tune with the need of science education. Dr.Panjabrao alias Bhusaheb Deshmukh, the great visionary, founder president of Shri Shivaji Education Society, Amravati and a cabinet minister at the central government had the wisdom to realize the necessity. It was his inspiration, his efforts and capacity that culminated in the birth of a science faculty which later on in 1969 separated into a fulfledged independent science college.

The establishment of the department of physics was concurrent with the college as a whole. In the beginning the department was housed in barracks with Prof. D.S.Sups as head of the department and a crew of teaching and non-teching staff numbering 04 and 04 respectively. Prof. K.G.Deshmukh, was the first principal of an independent science faculty of the college, and basically a man of physics, He was with the college and department from 1963 to 1965.

The Post graduate program along with the research was initiated from the session 1992-93. The Career Oriented Course in Astronomy and Astrophysics was introduced in 2009.

The beginners are the torch bearers. They have to bear the brunt of the edifice. They have always to toil hard. They are overloaded with teaching work with an additional responsibility of establishing the department from ab initio. It is really their hard work and perseverance that needs to be appreciated. Prof. D.S.Supe, Prof. D.K.Zamwar, Prof. P.B.Wani, Prof. M.S.Namboodiri, Dr. V.S.Deogaonkar, Dr. S.A.H. Khatib, Prof. A.B.Walkhade were the navigators who sailed the ship through rough weather. Prof. L.N.Gawande has also taken sincere efforts in his capacity as head of the department. The academic progression was to be supplemented by physical expansion. As result of which the department shifted to better accommodation in the main building with four laboratories and seperate P.G & Research wing.